

NAUGATUCK VALLEY HEALTH DISTRICT SPECIAL BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING Katharine Matthies Conference Room Tuesday, July, 2017

MINUTES

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT John Zikaras, Chairman, Thomas Clifford, Camille Kurtyka, Sue Mis, Lisa Brailey, Mary Connolly, Rosalie Averill, Jeff Dussetschleger, Jean Jones, Edward Kisluk, and Barbara Lombardi.

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: Gary Merlone and Edith Sletner.

STAFF PRESENT: Karen Spargo.

I. Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance

John Zikaras, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

II. Executive Session: A Personnel Matter

2018-01 <u>ACTION TAKEN:</u> Motion made by Thomas Clifford, to go into Executive Session to discuss a personnel matter at 7:02 p.m. with Karen Spargo invited to attend and Jeffrey Dussetschleger recusing himself, seconded by Mary Connolly. All Ayes.

At 7:40 p.m., Jeffrey Dussetschleger was invited to join the Executive Session. Jeffrey Dussetschleger left the Executive Session at 7:55 p.m.

- **2018-02 ACTION TAKEN:** Motion made by Thomas Clifford, to come out of Executive Session at 7:57 p.m., seconded by Rosalie Averill. All Ayes.
- 2018-03 <u>ACTION TAKEN:</u> Motion made by Rosalie Averill, to appoint Jeffrey L. Dussetschleger, D.D.S., M.P.H. Director of Health for the Naugatuck Valley Health District effective September 11, 2017, subject to approval by the Commissioner of the Connecticut Department of Public Health, seconded by Sue Mis. All Ayes.

2018-04 <u>ACTION TAKEN:</u> Motion to authorize the Chairman, John Zikaras, when there is approval from the Commissioner of the Department of Public Health, to execute a contract with Jeffrey Dussetschleger to fill the position of Director of Health at a starting rate of \$98,000 per year and subject to the same benefits as outlined in the District's personnel policies, seconded by Thomas Clifford. All Ayes.

Jeffrey Dussetschleger rejoined the meeting at 8:08 p.m. He thanked the Search Committee for a very thorough review process.

III. Adjournment

2018-05 <u>ACTION TAKEN:</u> Motion made by Rosalie Averill, to adjourn at 8:10 p.m., seconded by Mary Connolly. All Ayes.